日常紀律
(請點擊圖片放大)
12.14 - 1.11.2019
藝術家: Lynx Nguyen
地點: 456藝廊
展覽論述

《日常紀律》是我進行了超過7年的計畫。每一天,我都會在紙或畫布上,用固定在電鑽上的原子筆製造一百萬筆的痕跡,當作紀律。紀律有時帶有負面的意思, 跟懲罰聯想在一起。然而,我的紀律是內在的,在自省中讓自己更好、更了解自己。唯有自我控制與自我了解,才能真正成為完整的人。

我會選用原子筆是因為它可靠又一致的線條,讓我得以專心。另外我喜歡的一點是它會留下光澤。從事傳統繪畫14年的時光中,我總是想要找到一個方法讓我的繪畫活起來,但是無論是用油畫、壓克力或是水彩,都碰了壁。不過,要是使用原子筆,並且有足夠多層次的墨水堆積起來,墨水會使表層散發光澤,就好像人性一樣,曖曖含光,只待發掘。這個光澤是繪畫的精隨,如同驅動肉身的靈魂一般。

創作繪畫的過程需要耗費極大的體力。每一件作品都有15至30層的墨水,我的目標是覆蓋整個表面,不留白底。最後每張作品都會有大約5千萬筆的痕跡。我堅持畫面的完整與貫徹,因為那對我來說就跟人生一樣,我想要活得踏實無憾。

開幕酒會:2018年12月14日 晚間 6-8 時
本次藝展贊助單位
Foundation For the Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant
節目報導一覽表

LYNX: Daily Discipline
(Click to enlarge)
December 14 - January 11, 2019
Artist: LYNX
Location: Gallery 456
Exhibition Statement

Daily Discipline is a project that I have been working on for over 7 years. Each day I try to draw a million tally marks on paper or canvas using ballpoint pen that is attached to a power drill as an act of discipline. Discipline sometimes carries a negative connotation because people associate it with punishment; however, my concept of discipline is to go inward, through self-introspection to improve and understand oneself. It is through self-control and self-recognition in order to master oneself.

I chose the ballpoint pen because it is reliable and can consistently create the same marks, which helps me to focus. Another aspect of the ballpoint pen that I admire is the sheen. For over 14 years as a traditional painter, I always try to search for a way to make my paintings come alive, but I can never do so with oil paint, acrylic, or watercolor. The ballpoint pen can produce powerful sheen that glows brightly when enough layers of ink build up on the surface of the material, like human nature. We have this brightness inside, just waiting to be excavated. The sheen is the spirit of the painting, the same spirit that animates the human body.

The process of creating a painting is labor intensive. Each piece has about 15-30 layers of ink. My goal is to cover the entire surface material until no white show through. Each piece has about 50 million tiny tally marks. I chose to cover my painting thoroughly and entirely because to me it shows completion, just like in life—I want to live a complete life, a life without regret.

Artist Talk and Reception at 6-8pm on December 14, 2018
Exhibition Sponsors
Foundation For the Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant
Coverage