松树、松针、灵芝、水墨、颜料:植物狂想曲
10.8 - 11.5.2021
藝術家:
展覽論述

456畫廊榮幸地宣布闫晓静的近期作品即將展出。如梦似幻的风景在绢纱、雕塑和抽象画上徐徐展开,由此构成了闫晓静在纽约的首次个展。展览包括一个特定场域装置,两座非同寻常的年轻女孩半身像,以及一些纸上抽象水墨画,均创作于2016-2020年之间。即便我们已经习惯于当代艺术家们特立独行、无拘无束的材料选择,仍然会对她在材料上的运用感到惊叹。

装置作品《松山》(2017年)的灵感来自于传统山水画中虚无缥缈、极度宁静的风景。山水画兴起于公元5世纪,对许多人来说,它就是中国绘画的代名词。

闫晓静还在她的作品中创造性地、独树一帜地平衡了植物学和艺术学,其中最引人注目的作品就是她在2016-2020年间用灵芝制作的一系列非凡的雕塑《灵芝女孩》,尺寸均为真人大小,创作灵感则源自于她儿时听过的那些关于灵芝神奇特性的中国民间故事和传说——治病、长寿、甚至永生。这些故事对她来说,至今仍然很迷人。

《自然而然》系列是闫晓静对艺术家、材料和偶然性之间合作关系的另一个探索,可以视为《灵芝姑娘》主题之变奏,材料上使用了丙烯、中国水墨和合成纸。

闫晓静(1978年出生于中国江苏徐州,现居加拿大多伦多)横跨两种文化,亦同时受到两者的影响,尽管她的创作主要投入在表现中国本土文化上。她的偏好清晰地表现在她的主题选择上,即通常基于中国的传统山水画、美学经典和古老的民间故事、传说、医学典籍、精神教义以及哲学思想。景观和地域概念是她创作的核心,同时又融入了移民群体复杂的文化和心理分叉感。

2000年获得南京艺术学院艺术学学位后,闫晓静在她二十多岁时离开中国。后于2007年在宾夕法尼亚州印第安纳大学获得雕塑艺术硕士学位,此后一直定居于多伦多。

闫晓静的创作对于这个彷徨迷失、前所未有的时代具有示范意义,也提醒我们必须与自然和谐相处——否则将遭受灭顶之灾。


策展人短文:

"Pines, Needles, Mushrooms, Ink, Paint: A Botanical Rhapsody" - An Essay by Lilly Wei

https://yanxiaojing.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Xiaojing-Yan-CAAC-online.pdf




Please RSVP to visit this exhibition: https://forms.gle/Fz71yJa7WKmJeEgy5

開幕酒會:2021年10月8日 2-6時
節目報導一覽表
[World Journal /世界日報] 閆曉靜「植物狂想曲」 靈芝雕塑令人驚豔
[The China Press/侨报] 闫晓静个展亮相456艺廊
[Sing Tao Daily/星岛日报] 456画廊将办华裔艺术家闫晓静个展【植物狂想曲】

Pines, Needles, Mushrooms, Ink, Paint: A Botanical Rhapsody
October 8 - November 5, 2021
Artist:
Exhibition Statement

Gallery 456 is pleased to present Xiaojing Yan's first New York solo exhibition Pines, Needles, Mushrooms, Ink, Paint: A Botanical Rhapsody. Ghostly landscapes wavering on silk, sculpture, and abstract paintings make up Xiaojing Yan’s first solo exhibition in New York. It features a site-specific installation, two unusual portrait busts of a young girl, and a few abstract ink paintings on paper, all from 2016-2020. Some of the materials she uses are surprising even if we are accustomed to contemporary artists’ idiosyncratic, unfettered choices.

The installation, Mountain of Pines (2017), was inspired by the imagined, impossibly serene landscapes of traditional shan shui (mountain sea) paintings, which emerged in the 5thcentury and are synonymous for many with Chinese painting.

Yan also innovatively, idiosyncratically balances the botanical and the artistic in her work, perhaps most strikingly in a series of remarkable sculptures made from lingzhi mushrooms, Lingzhi Girl, made between 2016-2020, all life-sized, recalling the many Chinese folktales and legends about the its magical properties—healing, long life, and even immortality—that were told to her as a child. and remain fascinating to her.

The series Naturally Natural is another instance of Yan's exploration of collaboration between artist, materials, and chance, a variant on the theme of Lingzhi Girl, using acrylic, Chinese ink, and yupo paper.

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Yan (born in Xuzhou City, Jiangsu, China in 1978 and based in Toronto, Canada) straddles two cultures, influenced by both although she is most deeply invested in representations of her native heritage. Her preference is evident in her subject matter, often based on traditional Chinese landscape paintings, aesthetic canons and its ancient folktales, legends, healing treatises, spiritual teachings, and philosophies. Landscape and the concept of place are central to her practice, infused with the émigré’s complicated sense of cultural and psychological bifurcation.

Yan left China in her early 20s after graduating with a BFA from Nanjing University of the Arts in 2000. She then earned an MFA in sculpture at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania in 2007, afterwards settling in Toronto where she has lived ever since.

Yan’s project is exemplary for these disorienting, unprecedented times and reminds us that we must live in accord with nature--or suffer the catastrophic consequences.

CURATOR ESSAY

"Pines, Needles, Mushrooms, Ink, Paint: A Botanical Rhapsody" - An Essay by Lilly Wei

https://yanxiaojing.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Xiaojing-Yan-CAAC-online.pdf




Please RSVP to visit this exhibition: https://forms.gle/Fz71yJa7WKmJeEgy5

Opening Reception: Friday, October 8, 2021
2PM – 6PM

RSVP to the opening reception:
https://forms.gle/qd12p1pwfMEp2S6x5
Coverage
[World Journal /世界日報] 閆曉靜「植物狂想曲」 靈芝雕塑令人驚豔
[The China Press/侨报] 闫晓静个展亮相456艺廊
[Sing Tao Daily/星岛日报] 456画廊将办华裔艺术家闫晓静个展【植物狂想曲】